Help us eliminate Conversion Therapy with LGBTQ children and adults!

Dear NASW WI Members

I am writing to ask for your help in getting a ban on Conversion Therapy passed as a rule at the State Legislature. 

Clearinghouse Rule 19-166 is currently sitting in the Joint Committee on the Review of Administrative Rules (JCRAR) who will vote to either pass or reject the rule.  This rule, which is a rewrite and modernization of the MPSW 20, the Code of Conduct for Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapist and Professional Counselor, includes a ban on Conversion Therapy.  Conversion Therapy is a so-called therapy that tries to convince LGBTQ children and sometimes adults that they can and should change their sexual orientation or gender identity. 

Conversion therapy has been condemned by every major health and behavioral health profession.  Twenty states and ten Wisconsin cities have already banned this practice.  It is very harmful in particular to LGBTQ children who can suffer depression, anxiety, suicidality and many other mental health conditions as a result of this practice.

In your email write-Dear JCRAR member and in the note write Please support Clearinghouse Rule 19-166.

The name and emails of the JCRAR members are below.

If you have any questions please feel free to email me at mherstand.naswwi@socialworkers.org.

Thanks for your help!

Sincerely

Marc

Marc Herstand, MSW CISW
Executive Director
National Association of Social Workers, Wisconsin Chapter
131 West Wilson Street, Suite 903
Madison. WI 53703
(608) 257-6334
(608) 320-1207 Cell
Mherstand.naswwi@socialworkers.org

JOINT COMMITTEE ON THE REVIEW OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULES (JCRAR)

State Representatives

  1. Joan Ballweg, District 41 Rep.Ballweg@legis.wisconsin.gov
  2. Adam Neylon, District 98 Rep.Neylon@legis.wisconsin.gov
  3. Romaine Quinn, District 75 Rep.Quinn@legis.wisconsin.gov
  4. Gary Hebl, District 46 Rep.Hebl@legis.wisconsin.gov
  5. Lisa Subeck, District 78 Rep.Subeck@legis.wisconsin.gov

State Senators

  1. Stephen Nass, District 11 Sen.Nass@legis.wisconsin.gov
  2. Duey Stroebel, District 20 Sen.Stroebel@legis.wisconsin.gov
  3. David Craig, District 28 Sen.Craig@legis.wisconsin.gov
  4. Chris Larson, District 7 Sen.Larson@legis.wisconsin.gov
  5. Robert Wirch, District 22 Sen.Wirch@legis.wisconsin.gov